Gail Burns-Smith “Dare to Dream” Fund

The Gail Burns-Smith “Dare to Dream” Fund was established in 2004 upon the retirement of Gail Burns-Smith, former Executive Director of Connecticut Sexual Assault Crisis Servicesnow the Connecticut Alliance to End Sexual Violence. She dedicated twenty-two years to ending and preventing sexual violence in the state of Connecticut. The Fund is composed of voluntary contributions received from supporters and donors who wish to honor her dedication to this cause.

A scholarship or stipend is granted annually to an individual whose work or study in the field of sexual violence most exemplifies Gail Burns-Smith’s commitment to anti-sexual violence awareness, policy, prevention and advocacy on behalf of victims and survivors.

Award Information

An award of $1,000 will be presented each year.

This amount, along with the number of awardees, may change at the discretion of the Board of Directors.

Award recipient(s) will be invited to attend The Alliance Annual Breakfast at the end of April.

Required Materials

Applicants must submit the official application form, an essay responding to the questions listed on the application and two character references submitted as letters of recommendation on behalf of the applicant.

Important Dates

The deadline has been extended! Applications will now be accepted through April 6, 2018. The awardee(s) will be contacted in mid-April of 2018.

Award Conditions

The recipient(s) of the award must provide a report to Connecticut Alliance to End Sexual Violence one year after receiving the award, indicating how the funding was used and its impact. Portions of the report(s) may be used online to help promote the Fund.

This award is open to anyone, regardless of race, color, religious creed, age, marital status, familial status, national origin, ancestry, sex, mental disability, learning disability, sexual orientation, and physical disability. People from historically marginalized communities are encouraged to apply.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must be residents of Connecticut or attend a school that is based in Connecticut.

Applicants must show paid or volunteer work experience in the field of women’s issues or sexual violence, and be actively involved in sexual assault awareness activities.

Applicants may apply annually for this award.

Selection Criteria

Applicants must demonstrate leadership and display commitment in the fields of women’s issues or sexual violence prevention and/or advocacy. This work can be on behalf of individual victims or via public policy advocacy.